Monday, December 19, 2011

An Irish Christmas, A Musical Solstice Celebration

They say good things come in threes...  and here is the third CD this year on which the Washington Square Harp and Shamrock Orchestra appears.  Amazing!

An Irish Christmas, A Musical Solstice Celebration was recorded last year during the Irish Christmas shows at the Irish Arts Center.  The Washington Square Harp and Shamrock Orchestra has been part of these shows since their inception four years ago, so it was only natural that we should appear on the CD.  Our track is a song called The Rebel Jesus written by Jackson Browne.  Louise Sullivan is the lead vocalist.

Here is the complete track listing:

1. The Holly and the Ivy
2. Christmas Day
3. Jigs: Trip to Athlone / Castletown Connors | Reels: Father Kelly's / Man of the House
4. The Bushes of Jerusalem
5. Christmas in the Trenches
6. O D’wata Holi Kemudnung / Pangulawit
7. Slow Air: Port na bPúcaí (the Tune of the Fairies) | Reels: The Piper on Horseback / Lady on the Island / The Foxhunter’s
8. The Buskers
9. The Rebel Jesus
10. Celebration
11. Breaking Up Christmas
12. Miss Fogarty’s Christmas Cake
13. The Cherry Tree Carol
14. The Wren Song
15. Reels: The Girl Who Broke My Heart / My Love is in America / Christmas Eve     

All the tracks are really good, not your usual saccharin Christmas fare.  The performances as well as the production are top notch, just as you would expect from Mick Moloney and the Irish Arts Center.  Yet again, I'm really proud to have had a part in this CD.

If you like seasonal music, you will definitely want this CD.  You can order it from the Irish Arts Center by clicking HERE.

© 2011, Linda Mason Hood
Truffles, Turtles & Tunes Copyright Statement

No comments: